Main image
3rd June
2010
written by Steph

In the June issue of BookPage, I reviewed Ann Brashares' latest novel (the first in a trilogy), My Name is Memory. Fans of Twilight and The Time Traveler's Wife (so... not me! 😉 ) will likely love it to bits, and this one's already on the way to being a big hit.  The film rights for all three books have already ignited a huge studio bidding war, so it's only a matter of time before Memory makes it to a screen near you.  Of course, if you're anything like me, you'll want to read the book first! 😉 You can read a more in-depth review of the book here.

Even more exciting (for me), was the opportunity to read Aimee Bender's newest book, The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, and then talk to her about the book.  My interview with her can be read here. It was a real treat to talk to her, as Bender is both charming and intelligent, and it was wonderful to converse with someone who is so creative and has such an interesting perspective on the world.  Obviously I enjoyed the book a good deal, and I look forward to reading more of her back catalog!  Quirky and weird, this was a book that I felt had tons of heart and was brimming with emotion. If you're looking for something a little out of the ordinary, I highly recommend it.

11 Comments

  1. 06/03/2010

    Fans of Twilight and the Time Traveler’s Wife? Well, that’s not me, either! 😀

  2. 06/03/2010

    I want to read both of those, so I’m holding off on reading your reviews, but I’m so interested in these two (I have the Brashares but so far not the lemon cake)

  3. 06/03/2010

    I have been hearing some awesome things about The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake and am so thrilled that you got to interview the author. I am heading on over to check out these reviews now!

  4. 06/03/2010

    I loved Bender’s “An Invisible Sign of My Own” when I read it a few years back, and wondered why it didn’t get more love.

  5. 06/04/2010

    @ Amanda: Ha! Yeah, I wasn’t exactly the target audience for Memory, but I think it will be popular!
     
    @ rhapsody: For what it’s worth, neither of my things on BookPage have any spoilers whatsoever! But I’ll be interested in reading your responses to both of these books!
     
    @ zibilee: It was so cool getting to talk to Aimee! She was really sweet and easy to talk to. And the book was really wonderful, so I hope you do get a chance to read it!
     
    @ Girl Detectie: I have Invisible Sign in my TBR stack, but haven’t read it yet. I’m obviously really looking forward to it now!

  6. kay
    06/04/2010

    Well something must be wrong with me, because even though I wasn’t a fan of either Twilight or The Time Traveler’s Wife, I’m still curious about it. But maybe it has to do with the pretty cover more than anything else!

  7. 06/04/2010

    I do have My Name is Memory, thanks to Lydia at Penguin. And I just ordered Lemon Cake from Powells…I’m really looking forward to it. It’s also making my mouth water.

  8. Eva
    06/04/2010

    I’ve really enjoyed the two Bender books I’ve read (she came to our college when I was a sophomore, so that’s how I got to know her), so I’m definitely adding this to my TBR list! 🙂

  9. I just love the title of the second book — how funny! I’ve never read Bender, but she sounds quirky and fun.

  10. 06/05/2010

    @ kay: Well, I don’t think the book will only appeal to those who were fans of those books, but certainly if one did like them, then I think there’s a high likelihood one would also like My Name is Memory. You’ll have to let me know how you end up feeling about it.
     
    @ softdrink: Often books about food make me really hungry, but I think you’ll find this one doesn’t make you crave anything (because of how painful food can be for the main character). But the picture on the front cover… now that’s a different story!
     
    @ Eva: Given that you tend not read much contemporary American literature, I think it speaks volumes that you are a Bender fan! I think you’ll really love this one!
     
    @ Kim: Aimee Bender definitely is quirky and fun, but this book also had some wonderful substance as well. Plus, she’s really got a way with words!

  11. […] when the list was released. Last year, I had read two. This year? THREE! I’ve already read The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Room, and Freedom. Of the remaining contenders, I have copies of : A Visit From the Goon Squad, […]

Leave a Reply